Ruth: Her Decision

And she said, “See, your sister-in-law has gone back to her people and to her gods; return after your sister-in-law.” But Ruth said, “Do not urge me to leave you or to return from following you. For where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge. Your people shall be my people, and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there will I be buried. May the Lord do so to me and more also if anything but death parts me from you.” And when Naomi saw that she was determined to go with her, she said no more. (Ruth 1:15-18, ESV)

After Naomi’s husband and sons die she decides to return to Bethlehem, her home, with her daughter-in-laws.  But Naomi, realizing the situation,  told her daughter-in-laws not to come back with her because she had nothing to offer them, she had no more sons for them to marry and could not support them either. After they said their goodbyes Orpah left and went back to Moab; but Ruth didn’t. Instead she clung to her. (Ruth 1:14)

Here we see Ruth make a decision. This is her confession of faith. This is her decision to turn from the false gods of Moab and trust in the God of Naomi. Your God, My God”. This statement goes back to the covenant that God made with his people the Israelites: “I will take you to be my people, and I will be your God, and you shall know that I am the Lord your God,” (Exodus 6:7)

Ruth decided to put her faith in God.

Today making a decision is still just as important.

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. (John 3:16, ESV)

We are all sinners, which makes us positionally not right with God because God cannot have sin in his presence. Sin has separated us from God. (Isaiah 59:2) This is why God sent his son Jesus Christ to the earth, so that he would pay for sins, the perfect for the imperfect, so that we can be brought to God. (1 Peter 3:18)

Is Jesus Christ your Saviour? Everyone who trusts in Him will be saved. (Romans 10:9; Romans 10:13)

And remember He saves you in 3 ways:

Capture 1

Leave a Reply

